Tag Archives: Piano Inc.


Yoko Kanno will contribute to some extent to the new Watanabe project Space☆Dandy.

This new anime (katakanized スペース☆ダンディ) will tell the story of an alien hunter named Space Dandy. Remind you something?

A Worldwide simultaneous broadcast began on January 5, 2014 in Japan, USA, Australia, England, France, Germany, Italy, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, Viet Nam, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Makau, India and Korea! This is probably the first time it happens!

On the music side, it looks like a bit of a mess. 22 musicians are contributing to the project, and among them lies Yoko Kanno (and also Taro Umebayashi who also works for the label Piano). Everything is managed by the music producer Keisuke “Tommy” Tominaga who also works for Piano Inc.

The music is labeled by Flying Dog who created a dedicated website.

Yoko Kanno is not involved in the opening theme but arranged the ending theme entitled「X次元へようこそ」(X jigen e yōkoso [trans: Welcome to the X Dimension]).

It is performed by Yakushimaru Etsuko and will be released as a single in January 29, 2014:

Yakushimaru Etsuko

Single「X次元へようこそ/絶対ムッシュ制」(X jigen e yōkoso/Zettai MUSSHU-sei)
2014.01.29 Release


01. X次元へようこそ (X jigen e yōkoso [trans: Welcome to the X Dimension])
Music and lyrics : ティカ・α Arrangement : Yoko Kanno
02. 絶対ムッシュ制
Music and lyrics: ティカ・α Arrangement : Etsuko Yakushimaru, Jimanica
03. X次元へようこそ(off vocal)
04. 絶対ムッシュ制(off vocal)
05. X次元へようこそ(TV size)

Yoko Kanno

So far we don’t know if she wrote some background music too.


Merry Song

Remember the male vocalist audition held by Piano Inc. at the beginning of the year? 5 singers were selected and performed a song called “Merry Song”.

This song will be used to promote the Merry Project, which is part of the Merry charity foundation.


music:Yoko Kanno
lyrics:Hiroshi Ichikura
vocals:Ryan Fornoles,  Blake Swift, Takuya Sakamoto, Takatoshi Maeda, Haruka Ishikawa
music video: Naoki Imamura

The full music is available on the Piano Inc. sounds page.


Piano Me

Yoko Kanno performed a live piano and singing concert in Baltimore on August 11, 2013.

Since the event is over, I will do a small recap starting with the teasing.

On April 20, 2013, Piano Inc. published a mysterious Youtube video showing a disguised Yoko Kanno playing Tank! and Voices on a piano with special lightning, with the following hints:


That was to promote an upcoming live piano concert entitled “Yoko Kanno -piano me-” that took place on August 11, 2013 at the Otakon in Baltimore (USA). It was officially announced by Piano Inc. on May 17, 2013 on their Facebook page.


As described on the Otakon website, “Otakon’s Sunday Concert features the world premiere performance of Yoko Kanno’s presentation new project, “PIANO ME”, at Otakon. For this concert, the simple intimacy of one performer with one instrument will be enhanced by experimental live visuals that respond to her performance. Our Sunday show with Yoko Kanno is aiming for a different vibe, reminding us that beauty and wonder can come from the power of something as simple as timeless music performed live on a single piano. It’s a statement that no matter how big and crazy Otakon can feel, we can still create those special, intimate moments where an amazing artist can connect directly with fans and make magic happen.”

Piano Me

A few days before the event, Piano Inc. made up a request page so that fans can say which music they would want to be played.

Also, on August 2, 2013, the involved staff was credited on the Piano Inc. Facebook page.

Piano Inc. published the setlist, the staff credits and four photos on a Facebook album.

Piano Me


01. Tank!
02. Nomad Soul
03. Katarina
04. Innocent Green
05. Resonance of the earth
06. Gravity〜Baltimore special medley
07. Fanelia
08. Monochrome*
09. Apollon Blue
10. Rakuen
11. Power of the Light

12. Someday My Prince Will Come
13. The Real Folk Blues
14. Wo Qui Non Coin*

– encore2-
15. Star Spangled Banner (USA national anthem)

– encore3-
16. Tank! (reprise)

*Monochrome and Wo Qui Non Coin were sung by Yoko Kanno (or Gabriela Robin if you prefer).

Piano Me


piano : Yoko Kanno
programmer : Daito Manabe (Rhizomatiks)
piano decor : Momoko Nakamura (momonoma)
sound engineer : zAk
lighting director : Masayoshi Takada (RYU Inc.)
designer : Shinya Ito (DENTSU TEC INC.)
production manager : Yukiko Kiba
producer : Tommy

Piano Me


Petal Dance album and piano score

 The Petal Dance album was released on iTunes and in a piano score bundle on the Piano Inc. shop.

The full album with the unused tracks is only available on the Piano Inc. shop, included with the soundtrack piano score for ¥3,000.


Otherwise, a lighter album is available on iTunes for ¥1,200.


01. Lys (0:40)
02. Petal* (?:??)
03. Trace (0:26)
04. Wilma (1:36)
05. Sayonaraba (1:30)
06. Then (0:35)
07. Re-trace* (?:??)
08. lulu (2:56)
(vocals: Predawn)
09. Dimini* (?:??)
10. Norway* (?:??)
11. Eine (3:33)
12. Northern Light (2:36)
13. crouka (3:54)
(vocals: Egil Olsen)

*unused tracks only present in the piano score album

The iTunes album is less than 20 minutes long, and every music contains only a piano and sounds generated with a piano like inverse sounds.

Here is a digest from Piano Inc. soundcloud page (it doesn’t contain any unused track):