Category Archives: Concert

Thank you letter from Yoko Kanno to Origa

Origa posted a picture of a letter she received from Yoko Kanno at the time of the Seoul Concert in 2007.

The picture shows a few thanks words from Yoko Kanno:

You inspire me.
Let’s do something again some other time!


Piano Me

Yoko Kanno performed a live piano and singing concert in Baltimore on August 11, 2013.

Since the event is over, I will do a small recap starting with the teasing.

On April 20, 2013, Piano Inc. published a mysterious Youtube video showing a disguised Yoko Kanno playing Tank! and Voices on a piano with special lightning, with the following hints:


That was to promote an upcoming live piano concert entitled “Yoko Kanno -piano me-” that took place on August 11, 2013 at the Otakon in Baltimore (USA). It was officially announced by Piano Inc. on May 17, 2013 on their Facebook page.


As described on the Otakon website, “Otakon’s Sunday Concert features the world premiere performance of Yoko Kanno’s presentation new project, “PIANO ME”, at Otakon. For this concert, the simple intimacy of one performer with one instrument will be enhanced by experimental live visuals that respond to her performance. Our Sunday show with Yoko Kanno is aiming for a different vibe, reminding us that beauty and wonder can come from the power of something as simple as timeless music performed live on a single piano. It’s a statement that no matter how big and crazy Otakon can feel, we can still create those special, intimate moments where an amazing artist can connect directly with fans and make magic happen.”

Piano Me

A few days before the event, Piano Inc. made up a request page so that fans can say which music they would want to be played.

Also, on August 2, 2013, the involved staff was credited on the Piano Inc. Facebook page.

Piano Inc. published the setlist, the staff credits and four photos on a Facebook album.

Piano Me


01. Tank!
02. Nomad Soul
03. Katarina
04. Innocent Green
05. Resonance of the earth
06. Gravity〜Baltimore special medley
07. Fanelia
08. Monochrome*
09. Apollon Blue
10. Rakuen
11. Power of the Light

12. Someday My Prince Will Come
13. The Real Folk Blues
14. Wo Qui Non Coin*

– encore2-
15. Star Spangled Banner (USA national anthem)

– encore3-
16. Tank! (reprise)

*Monochrome and Wo Qui Non Coin were sung by Yoko Kanno (or Gabriela Robin if you prefer).

Piano Me


piano : Yoko Kanno
programmer : Daito Manabe (Rhizomatiks)
piano decor : Momoko Nakamura (momonoma)
sound engineer : zAk
lighting director : Masayoshi Takada (RYU Inc.)
designer : Shinya Ito (DENTSU TEC INC.)
production manager : Yukiko Kiba
producer : Tommy

Piano Me


Song of Departure concert recording and score

The Waseda University Glee Club performance of a Song of Departure was recorded and can be purchased.

I strongly invite you to read May’s articles about this event on her blog Gabriela Robin.

A CD and DVD are available on the Waseda university glee club website, it’s said that the DVD will not contain the ∀ Gundam song 限りなき旅路 (Kagiri Naki Tabiji [trans: The Endless Journey]), so I think the CD does.
The CD costs ¥3,000 while the DVD costs ¥4,000. The performance is supposed to last 30 minutes.


01. Planeta
02. Grindel
03. Vulcanus
04. Rosalind
05. Hyquiella
06. Hikari
07. Patria
08. Dinga linga
09. The Departure

Piano Inc. published a digest on its soundcloud page:

It makes me think of A Song to Fly songs like The Ship and especially Hallelujah!

On top of that, since July 11, 2013, a 80 page official chorus score is available on the Piano Inc. shop for ¥3,000.